Saltar al menú principal
Saltar al contenido
  • Secretaría de Estado
  • 09/03/2012

Schuman Medal awarded to Iñigo Méndez de Vigo, former Member of the EPP Group

Former EPP Group MEP and now Spanish Secretary of State for European Affairs, Iñigo Méndez de Vigo, has been awarded the Robert Schuman Medal by the Chairman of the EPP Group, Joseph Daul MEP, during the Bureau meeting of the Group in Palma de Mallorca.

Méndez de Vigo was a distinguished Member of the EPP Group for almost 20 years (since October 1992) and he was for many years EPP Group Coordinator in the European Parliament's Committee on Constitutional Affairs. He was also Chairman of the EP Delegation to the Convention drafting the Charter of Fundamental Rights (1999–2000) and Chairman of the EP Delegation to the European Convention (2003–2004) who drafted the project of the European Constitution. He was later EP representative at the Intergovernmental Conference and Parliament's Rapporteur (with Richard Corbett MEP) on the Treaty establishing a European Constitution (2004) and on the Lisbon Treaty.

The Schuman Medal is a major distinguishing honour of the EPP Group created in 1986 to honour people who have made outstanding contributions to European integration. The medal is named after the former French Minister for Foreign Affairs, Robert Schuman, who in 1950, together with Jean Monnet, proposed the establishment of the European Coal and Steel Community - a date which marks the beginning of European unification.

Since 1986, former German Chancellor, Helmut Kohl (1986), former Dutch Prime Minister, Ruud Lubbers (1991), former President of France, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing (1993) and former President of the European Commission, Jacques Delors (1995), have been some of the politicians awarded with the Schuman Medal.

Méndez de Vigo is the eighth Spanish personality to receive the award.


  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn